Yast and KDE 4.2 : Segfault because of QT solved

Recently, I tried again KDE’s newest version, 4.2.1 and to my great surprise I found it very stable, at least compared to its predecessors.
After two weeks of trying, all my desktop systems have been updated and make Windows admins admire 3D-effects, wobbling windows and more. I never was fond of such graphical gadgets, but I like it. Let’s see how long.
Nevertheless, one sad thing that came along with recent Qt versions was an error message of Suse’s Yast package management tool – and the refusal to start:

YaST got signal 11 at YCP file /usr/share/YaST2/clients/inst_packages.ycp:36 /sbin/yast2: line 421: 4076 Segmentation fault $ybindir/y2base $module “$@” “$SELECTED_GUI” $Y2_GEOMETRY $Y2UI_ARGS

Obviously, some segfault prevented the Yast module from starting. For some time, switching the GUI to GTK mode in one of the sysconfig files did the trick, but I prefer the Qt look.
Luckily, I found the right help in the opensuse forums: Just install the Yast meta package from here (for opensuse 11.0), and Yasts Look and feel is as before. Needless to say: This is an error that is not to be found on Debian.🙂

Comments are closed.

